Clarice Assad


(2008) Impressions

Duration: 15 minutes | Commissioned by The New Century Chamber Orchestra

Program Notes

IMPRESSIONS, Suite For Chamber Orchestra, was commissioned by the New Century Chamber Orchestra in 2008. Written originally for NCCOs as a season opener, the purpose of the piece was to showcase the orchestra’s performers’ diversity and uniqueness and create a musical portrait of the first impressions between the musicians of the orchestra and the composer herself. The first movement is a set of variations for each of the orchestra’s five sections. The second movement, Dança Brasileira, echoes Assad’s homeland. The film noirs of Hollywood inspired the middle movement, Slow Waltz, while Perpetual Motion, the fourth movement, showcases skill and proficiency. The last movement serves as a bridge, and the suite concludes by reflecting on its opening. 

  1. Personas. Theme & Variations
  2. Fusion. Dança Brasileira
  3. Affection. Slow Waltz
  4. Precision. Perpetual Motion
  5. Unity. Coda

TOGETHER, by New Century Chamber Orchestra

“Lushly film-score-ish, with echoes of black spirituals, dances from Brazilian salons of yore — and Vivaldi’s sunshine.“


“… brilliant and entertaining Impressions.” – 

San Francisco Classical Voice

“Impressions is full of infectiously Brazilian high spirits and enveloping warmth.”  

The Philadelphia Inquirer

“Gorgeous … one of the more enjoyable new works I’ve heard in recent years.” 


“… Dynamic, fresh.”  

Stewart Oksenhorn, The Aspen Times

Join the Clarice Assad
Mailing List