Clarice Assad


TERRA (2023)

Concerto For Bassoon & Orchestra | Duration: 22 Minutes

I. Ar (Air)
II. Vendaval (Windstorm)
III. Victoria Amazonia (Water Lilies)
IV. Espelho das Águas (Mirror of the Waters)
V. Danças da Terra (Dances of the Earth)

Program Notes:
TERRA (Earth, in Portuguese) is a concerto for bassoon and orchestra – in a suite format in five movements. Here, the noble and multifaceted bassoon takes center stage, and each movement explores the beauty and complexity of the world around us. The air we breathe, the light we need, and the water we drink all examine the facets of our existence and the importance of honoring Mother Earth and all its elements, animals, and plants. With each note, I hope we awaken to the need to protect our planet and give back to the graciousness that it bestows upon us.

The great accomplishment of Terra, the bassoon concerto by Brazilian American composer Clarice Assad receiving its world premiere, was its ability to move across numerous stylistic borders to create a world unto itself. Played with soul and virtuosity by bassoon soloist Daniel Matsukawa, the piece was easy on the ears and packed with some gripping emotional storylines. You also had to admire the delicate, sensitive textures Assad used to ensure that the solo bassoon wasn’t a lone voice swallowed up by the crowd. – The Philadelphia Inquirer

© 2023 by Virtual Artists Collective Publishing
First published in 2023 by Virtual Artists Collective Publishing

Commissioned with the generous support of Richard M. Klein for The Philadelphia Orchestra, Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Music and Artistic Director, and Daniel Matsukawa, bassoon 

Premiered by

The Philadelphia Orchestra
Daniel Matsukawa, Bassoon
Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Music and Artistic Director

October 12, 2023.


Join the Clarice Assad
Mailing List